The 1910 Society

History of the 1910 Society

The 1910 Heritage Society was named in recognition of the year in which the visionary early leaders founded the Boy Scouts of America, which was patterned after the fledgling-but popular-Scouting program developed in England by Sir Baden-Powell.

Those who make a gift now of $25,000 or more, to further endow Scouting are themselves modern-day visionaries. It is appropriate, therefore, that these visionaries be recognized as they help ensure the Scouting legacy for future generations of young Americans by undergirding the financial stability of the BSA programs in the Greater Cleveland Council into the future.

1910 Society Recognition

There are four levels of recognition in the 1910 Society:

Seton level membership: $25,000 minimum gift. Ernest Thompson Seton was a nationally known artist and naturalist, author of the first official American Scout handbook and many other books important to Scouting.
Beard level membership: $100,000 minimum gift. Daniel Carter Beard was the first chairman of the National Court of Honor, National Scout Commissioner, and author of many well- known books and stories for youth.
Roosevelt level membership: $500,000 minimum gift. Theodore Roosevelt was the first Chief Scout Citizen, first vice president of the BSA, and President of the United States of America.
Phillips level membership: $1,000,000 and up. Waite Phillips was one of the BSA's first benefactors, and donor to the BSA of almost 130,000 acres of land in New Mexico and what is now Philmont Scout Ranch.

For more information please contact Culeen Carey at (216) 458-8948