James West Award

What is a James E. West Fellowship Award?

The James E. West Fellowship Award is a recognition authorized by the National Council, B.S.A. and presented by the Greater Cleveland Council for individuals and chartered units who contribute $1,000 or more in cash or securities to the Greater Cleveland  Council Endowment fund. This contribution is in addition to, and should not diminish or replace, the donor's annual gift to the Friends of Scouting Campaign.

Who was James E. West?

James E. West was appointed to the position of Chief Scout Executive in 1910 by the founding leadership of Scouting in America. West worked with Sir Robert Baden-Powell, Daniel Carter Beard, Ernest T. Seton, and many interested community leaders to give direction to the infant program of Boy Scouts of America. On January 2, 1911, West and others formed the National Council, B.S.A. During that year the Scout Oath, Law, badges and fundamental policies were established. Under his leadership over the next 33 years, Scouting grew and matured into the program we recognize and enjoy today.

"Scouting today is the lengthened shadow of more than three decades
of the farseeing and dedicated leadership of Dr. James E. West."

Why is he recognized?

James E. West is credited with not only helping form Scouting but guiding, protecting, and nurturing the program through many critical challenges. His leadership and foresight into the value of and need for Scouting in this country exemplified Ralph Waldo Emerson's observation that "...an institution is the lengthened shadow of one man."

Who can become a James E. West Fellow?

Organizations or individuals may contribute an award in honor of someone -- an Eagle Scout, a Silver Beaver recipient, Council, District or unit Scouter, or in memory of a departed loved one. There can be no finer honor paid to a Scouter than to be named a James E. West Fellow, indicating that the nominee is in the same spirit and dedication to Scouting as was James E. West. Those who are recognized by the James E. West Fellowship Award will cast their own "lengthened shadow" as they help ensure the Scouting legacy by helping create the financial stability needed to carry Scouting in the next century.

How is the James E. West Fellowship Recognized?

The James E. West Fellowship Award is an attractive 8 X 10 inch certificate, personalized with the honorees name, date of gift and presented in a bound leather presentation folder. In addition, there will be a distinctive lapel pin and an embroidered square knot.  Each honorees name will be engraved on the James E. West Fellow plaque permanently on display in the Service Center of the Greater Cleveland Council.  The recognition is immediate and may be presented after the commitment is made to become a James E. West Fellowship member.  Payments may be made over a 4 year period.