Awards for Adult Leaders

Cub Scout Leader Training Awards

Recognition awards are available to Cub Scout leaders who complete training, tenure, and performance requirements. These awards are presented by the local council. All of the awards require the completion of Fast Start Training, Basic Leader Training for the position, Youth Protection training, and participation in roundtables or a pow wow or University of Scouting. Click here for more information, including award requirements.

Trained Leader Emblem

The Trained Leader emblem is available for all leaders who have completed the Basic Leader Training program appropriate to their positions. The emblem is worn on the left sleeve immediately below and touching the emblem of office for which it was earned. Because trained leaders ensure that the goals of Cub Scouting are met, every Cub Scout leader is encouraged to earn the Trained Leader Emblem for his or her current position.

Religious Emblems

To encourage members to grow stronger in their faith, many religious groups have instituted programs that enable adults that mentor youth to earn a religious emblem. The Boy Scouts of America has approved of these programs and allows the emblems to be worn on leaders' official uniforms. However, the emblems are awarded through the various religious organizations rather than the BSA.

For a complete list of approved emblems programs, including a list of awards that are provided by each faith, see the Religious Emblems Programs.

Silver Antelope Award

The Boy Scouts of America, acting through the National Court of Honor, may award the Silver Antelope to registered Scouters of exceptional character in our region for distinguished service to youth. Nominations are made annually by the regional executive committee based upon recommendations by the Volunteer Recognitions Committee.

Silver Beaver Award

The Silver Beaver Award is the council-level distinguished service award of the Boy Scouts of America. Recipients of this award are registered adult leaders who have made an impact on the lives of youth through service given to the council.The Silver Beaver is an award given to those who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self sacrifice, dedication, and many years of service.

Silver Buffalo Award

The Silver Buffalo Award, created in 1925, is bestowed upon those who give truly noteworthy and extraordinary service to youth. This award, Scouting’s highest commendation, recognizes the invaluable contributions that outstanding American men and women render to youth. The service must be national in character and may or may not be directly connected with the BSA.

Unit Leader Award of Merit

A quality Scouting experience will help keep Scouts in the program, and the Boy Scouts of America created the Unit Leader Award of Merit to recognize the quality unit leaders who make that happen.

The Unit Leader Award of Merit replaces the Scoutmaster, Varsity Team Coach, and Venturing Crew Advisor award of merit programs. This new recognition has revised requirements and may be earned by Cubmasters as well.

Leave No Trace Awareness Award

Leave No Trace is a plan that helps people to be more concerned about their environment and to help them protect it for future generations. Cub Scout leaders who practice and teach the Leave No Trace guidelines are eligible to earn the Leave No Trace Preparedness Award. Click here for more information.

Emergency Preparedness Award

Emergency preparedness means being prepared for all kinds of emergencies, able to respond in time of crisis to save lives and property and to help a community—or even a nation—return to normal life after a disaster occurs. To encourage Scouts and their leaders to be prepared for emergency situations, the BSA has approved an Emergency Preparedness Award program. To learn more about the award requirements and download an application form, visit the Emergency Prepardeness Award page.

Woods Services Award

This award recognizes outstanding contributions to BSA members who have disabilities. Woods Services, founded in 1913 as The Woods Schools for Exceptional Children, is a nationally recognized leader in services for people with developmental disabilities, brain injury, and mental health diagnoses, serving 1,000 individuals annually. Click here for the council nomination form.

George Meany Award

In recognition of their contributions to America's future, the AFL-CIO Executive Council established the George Meany Award. It recognizes union members—men and women—who have made a significant contribution to the youth of their communities by volunteering in the programs of the BSA. The award is named for the AFL-CIO's first president, who gave strong support to Scouting over the years. Click here for the council nomination form.

Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Award

The purpose of the Whitney M. Young Jr. Service Award is to recognize outstanding services by an adult individual or organization for demonstrated involvement in the development and implementation of Scouting opportunities for youth from rural or low-income urban backgrounds—this is in fulfillment of Whitney Young’s dream of justice and equality for all. Click here for the nomination form.

¡Scouting … Vale la Pena! Service Award

The purpose of the ¡Scouting … Vale la Pena! Service Award is to recognize outstanding services by an adult individual or an organization for  demonstrated involvement in the development and implementation of Scouting opportunities for Hispanic/Latino youth.